Hello! Noob here

…and by noob I mean I just started learning to code. I have a fascination with anything tech though, and really I’m just beginning to stumble my way through this. Currently working as a railroader with goals of doing some white hat stuff on the side and learning as much as I can. I’m glad I found out about this group and hope to get to know you all and pick your brains.

Thanks for joining, man! The more I read on here, the more I realize that programming is a very important part of learning to hack things; getting that rudimentary understanding of how something works is what is required.

I have always been told start with Python. A lot of well known people in the security industry (including those in Google) use it to make quick proof of exploit programs to demonstrate a vulnerability. That is what led me to consider Python first and foremost.

I hope you enjoy it here. I have!

Welcome! Glad you made it to us!

That’s all it takes, everything else can be learned.

You already have this figured out. Let us know what kind of stuff you’re into. Web applications, operating systems, penetration testing, and we’ll be sure to put together some resources for you.

Again, welcome. Also, sorry we scared you away in Slack yesterday :slight_smile:

groot groot groot. welcome guardian :smiley:

Yup, that’s the language I’m starting with. I’m using Udacity and finished the first Chapter last week. Really basic stuff and boy I thought I had it down right until the last couple quizzes. It was during those last couple quizzes that I realized this is going to be a long slow learning process.